Latest and concise update on the IPL 2021

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. The  2021 Indian Premier League, also called IPL 14 or to refer to it as sponsorship reasons VivoIPL 2021. This is the 14th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), a professional elite Twenty20 cricket league established in 2007 by BCCI. Mumbai Indians are the two-time champions who have been crowned champions in both the 2019 and season in 2020. Before the event, Kings XI Punjab was changed to The Punjab Kings.

On May 4, 2021, the event was postponed indefinitely due to a spike in the number of COVID-19-related cases in those bio bubbles that belong to each team; when the tournament was suspended, suspension there were 31 of the 60 matches left in play. On May 29, 2021, BCCI announced that on May 29, 2021, BCCI confirmed that the final matches would be held within the United Arab Emirates in September and October 2021. The schedule for the remaining portion of the tournament was announced on July 25, 2021.

While previously reported reports hinted at the inclusion of two additional teams during the upcoming season, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) at their 89th AGM declared that there will be no different teams this season addition of two teams should occur in 2022. 

On January 30, 2021, the BCCI declared that they would hold the tournament in India. They also announced that the UAE wasn’t considered an alternative venue. The day before the auction, the BCCI confirmed that Vivo had been reinstated as the title sponsor after pulling out of last year’s tournament.

 In late February, the BCCI was considering hosting the tournament in a handful of shortlisted cities, including Kolkata, Delhi, Bangalore, Ahmedabad, and Chennai, including Mumbai as an option.

On March 7, 2021, on March 7, 2021, on March 7, 2021, BCCI announced the complete calendar for next season. Six venues, which included all five venues shortlisted, and the alternative venue Mumbai was set for hosting matches. For the sake of avoiding home advantage, it was not planned for any team to play in their home stadium. It was designed to start on April 9, and the final was scheduled to be held on May 30 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The BCCI also announced that the event would be born with closed doors and that a decision on allowing spectators it would be made later. Following the recent rise of COVID instances within India, Hyderabad has also added a second venue even though no matches were there.

After the transfer into the UAE, BCCI was looking to permit at least 50% of the vaccinated crowd to the stadium, provided the local authorities approved it. Four days before starting the new season at the stadium, fans were allowed in according to COVID-19 protocol. The COVID-19 protocol was followed.

Personnel changes

Main article: A list for 2021 Indian Premier League personnel changes

The players who were released were announced on January 20, 2021. Steve Smith, Aaron Finch, and Glenn Maxwell were the prominent names in players let go. Piyush Chawla, who was the highest expensive Indian player at auction in 2020, was released too.

The auction for players took place on February 18, 2021, in Chennai.

 The most expensive Indian player to date has been Krishnappa Gowtham, bought by the Chennai Super Kings for Rs9.25 crore (US$1.3 million). Chris Morris was the most expensive player, purchased from the Rajasthan Royals for Rs16.25 crore (US$2.3 million).

COVID-19 impact

Due to the growing COVID-19 outbreak resulting from the worsening COVID-19 situation in India, many players resigned from the match.

 After following the Chennai game, Ravichandran Ashwin left the Delhi Capitals bubble to “support [his] family” during the flare-up. On May 3, 2021, the 2021 event scheduled to play Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore was postponed because two Kolkata players were confirmed to have positive tests for COVID-19. The following day, three players from the Chennai Super Kings team comprising their coaching staff for the bowling Lakshmipathy Balaji and CEO Kasi Viswanathan were positive for COVID-19. 

 The day before, the entire Delhi Capitals’ Delhi Capitals team members were placed in the quarantine area. The same was the case for other teams. Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad skipped their practice practices ahead of their game on May 4.

 In the aftermath, the BCCI considered hosting the remaining matches during the competition at Mumbai.

On May 4, 2021, this Chennai Super Kings against the Rajasthan Royals match, scheduled to take place on May 5, 2021, was postponed because Chennai players were quarantined. The game was delayed because of quarantine. On the same day, Hyderabad’s Wriddhiman Saha and Delhi’s Amit Mishra tested positively with COVID-19. On May 4, the entire season was suspended for an indefinite period. The next day, May 5, 2021, Michael Hussey, batting coach from Chennai, is the first player from outside the country to be found positively for COVID-19. In the days following, Tim Seifert and Prasidh Krishna of The Knight Riders tested positive.

On May 6 in 2021, a selection of English counties offered to host the remaining games during the competition in England beginning in September. On May 9, 2021, Sourav Ganguly, the president of the BCCI has ruled off the possibilities of the tournament being played either in England or India in light of the problems regarding quarantine.

 The BCCI was keen to play the remaining games between the months between September and October 2021.

IPL New Schedule 2021

Match NoMatchDateTime
31MI vs CSK19/09/20217:30 PM
32KKR vs RCB20/09/20217:30 PM
33Punjab Kings vs RR21/09/20217:30 PM
34DC vs Sunrisers Hyderabad22/09/20217:30 PM
35MI vs KKR23/09/20217:30 PM
36RCB vs CSK24/09/20217:30 PM
37DC vs RR25/09/20213:30 PM
38Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Punjab Kings25/09/20217:30 PM
39CSK vs KKR26/09/20213:30 PM
40RCB vs MI26/09/20217:30 PM
41Sunrisers Hyderabad vs RR27/09/20217:30 PM
42KKR vs DC28/09/20213:30 PM
43MI vs Punjab Kings28/09/20217:30 PM
44RR vs RCB29/09/20217:30 PM
45Sunrisers Hyderabad vs CSK30/09/20217:30 PM
46KKR vs Punjab Kings1/10/20217:30 PM
47MI vs DC2/10/20213:30 PM
48RR vs CSK2/10/20217:30 PM
49RCB vs Punjab Kings3/10/20213:30 PM
50KKR vs Sunrisers Hyderabad3/10/20217:30 PM
51DC vs CSK4/10/20217:30 PM
52RR vs MI5/10/20217:30 PM
53RCB vs Sunrisers Hyderabad6/10/20217:30 PM
54CSK vs Punjab Kings7/10/20213:30 PM
55KKR vs RR7/10/20217:30 PM
56Sunrisers Hyderabad vs MI8/10/20213:30 PM
57RCB vs DC8/10/20217:30 PM
58Qualifier 110/10/20217:30 PM
59Eliminator11/10/20217:30 PM
60Qualifier 213/10/20217:30 PM
61Final15/10/20217:30 PM